Robertson Scholars Leadership Program announces Class of 2018

Increase font size
Decrease font size

For immediate use: Wednesday, May 14, 2014


Thirty high school graduates have accepted invitations to become Robertson Scholars, receiving undergraduate merit scholarships to attend either the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill or Duke University.


This year’s class hails from 17 states and six different countries, representing a plethora of backgrounds and global views.


The Robertson Scholars Leadership Program invests in young leaders who strive to make transformational contributions to society. Scholars are selected based on students’ demonstration of outstanding academic achievement, intellectual curiosity, force of moral character, purposeful leadership, and collaborative spirit.


The Robertson Program’s financial benefits include full tuition, room and board, and mandatory fees for four years of undergraduate study, in addition to three summers of domestic and international experiences.


Robertson Scholars enroll at one university while receiving student privileges at both Duke and UNC-Chapel Hill, including opportunities to pursue second majors and minors, enroll in courses and participate in student activities. During the academic year, the Robertson Program provides customized offerings designed to enable Scholars to realize their full leadership potential.


The Robertson Program was created in 2000 through a $24 million gift from Julian Robertson, a 1955 graduate of UNC, and his wife, Josie. Inspired by their sons — one of whom graduated from Duke in 1998, and another from UNC in 2001 — the Robertsons believed that each institution offered a distinctive undergraduate experience, but that the combination of the two promised a breadth and depth of resources that no other university could match.


The Robertson alumni network consists of approximately 300 leaders on six continents, linked together by a common goal to make positive and palpable contributions to their communities.



Scholars at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (name, high school, hometown):



Ian Muriuki, African Leadership Academy of Nairobi



Andre Domingues, Escuela Campo Alegre, Caracas


United States


Persis Bhadha, Cooper City High School, Cooper City



Diandra Dwyer, Alan C. Pope High School, Roswell



Andrew Brennen, Paul Laurence Dunbar High School, Lexington


New Jersey

Snehal Parikh, Union County Academy for Allied Health Sciences, Rahway


New Mexico

Alexandra Hehlen, Los Alamos High School, Los Alamos


New York

Claire Boyd, Hunter College High School, New York


North Carolina

McNair Mitchener, Charlotte Country Day School, Charlotte



Olivia Linn, Wyoming High School, Cincinnati

Eric Qian, Upper Arlington High School, Columbus



Caitlin Rosica, Archbishop Wood High School, Jamison


South Carolina

Rimel Mwamba, Spring Valley High School, Blythewood



Maire Amlicke, Father Ryan High School, Nashville



Philip Howard, Central Valley High School, Veradale


Scholars at Duke University:


Matthew Waller, Marcellin College Randwick, Coogee



Henrik Cox, Abingdon School, Oxfordshire

Joshua Neuhaus, St. Paul’s School, London


New Zealand

Benjamin Ayto, Wellington College, Wellington



Ogechi Onyeka, African Leadership Academy, Ebute Metta


United States


Chinmay Pandit, Fossil Ridge High School, Fort Collins



Sydney McAuliffe, Alexander W. Dreyfoos School of the Arts, West Palm Beach

Miriam Singer, Coral Reef Senior High School, Miami



Philip Moss, John Adams High School, South Bend



Kya Sorli, Billings Central Catholic High School, Billings


New Jersey

Michelle Moffa, Holy Spirit High School, Linwood


New Mexico

*Maya Durvasala, Albuquerque Academy, Albuquerque



Elizabeth Zhao, Jesuit High School, West Linn



Matthew King, Maggie L. Walker Governor’s School, Henrico

Jackson Skeen, Cape Henry Collegiate School, Virginia Beach


*Chosen in 2013, deferred admission until this year.


For more information about the Robertson Scholars Leadership Program, visit


Duke News contact: Camille Jackson, (919) 681-8052,

UNC News contact: Robbi Pickeral, (919) 962-8589,