Board of Trustees elect new members to the UNC Board of Visitors

Increase font size
Decrease font size

For immediate use


Board of Trustees elect new members to the UNC Board of Visitors


(Chapel Hill, N.C.—June 8, 2015) – The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Board of Trustees has appointed 46 people from the U.S. and abroad to serve on the UNC Board of Visitors, one of the most active volunteer groups at Carolina. They will begin their four-year terms July 1, 2015.


The new members are part of a board that actively assists the Board of Trustees and Chancellor in several activities that advance UNC-Chapel Hill, including career services, marketing, honor student recruitment, public and government relations and fundraising. Members also serve as ambassadors who inform their communities about issues important to Carolina, and, in turn, share feedback from their communities with the UNC-Chapel Hill administration.


The Board of Visitors selection process begins in January and continues through May. Each year, as members rotate off, the Board of Trustees elects a class of new members. N. Thompson Long of Fox Point, Wisconsin, was selected to chair the Board of Visitors.


The new members are listed below, alphabetically by North Carolina County and by state.





  • Larry T. Williams of Hickory


  • Ralph W. Meekins of Shelby


  • Hada Haulsee of Winston-Salem
  • Danny R. Newcomb of Winston-Salem
  • Pamela Oliver of Clemmons
  • Michael Rogers of Winston-Salem


  • Michael H. Godwin of Greensboro
  • Judy White of Greensboro



  • W. Robert Bizzell of Kinston


  • Peter Keane of Charlotte
  • Frances C. Mangan of Charlotte

New Hanover

  • Louise F. Sloan of Wilmington


  • Susan B. Anna of Chapel Hill
  • Deniese Chaney of Efland
  • Joseph C. High of Chapel Hill
  • Kristen Smith of Chapel Hill
  • Clayton D. Somers of Chapel Hill


  • A.L. Lomax of Tryon


  • Frank Moretz of Fairview


  • Sallie H. Glover of Raleigh
  • Alfred L. Hobgood, IV of Raleigh
  • Hans H. Huang of Raleigh
  • Sandra L. Johnson of Raleigh
  • William W. Lawrence, Jr. of Raleigh
  • Donna Rascoe of Apex
  • Reid S. Saleeby of Raleigh





  • J. Taylor Melvin, III of Scottsdale


  • Harris S. Barton of Palo Alto
  • Debashish Chatterjee of Freemont
  • Matthew B. Laycock of Los Angeles

District of Columbia

  • Yewande J. Johnson of Washington


  • Katherine Dunlevie of Columbus
  • John C. Hamilton of Atlanta
  • James Kerr of Atlanta
  • Anne Neikirk of Atlanta
  • Ray S. Smith, III of Atlanta


  • John Walters of Falmouth


  • Richard Batchelder of Boston

New Jersey

  • Suzanne S. Plambeck of Princeton

New York

  • Paul G. Parker of New York

South Carolina

  • Katina P. Strauch of Charleston


  • Christopher C. Whitson of Nashville


  • Renee Grisham of North Garden
  • Sarah D. Robinson of McLean

West Virginia

  • Andrew McMillan of Shepherdstown



  • Allan B. Heye of London, England




About the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill: The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, the nation’s first public university, is a global higher education leader known for innovative teaching, research and public service. A member of the prestigious Association of American Universities, Carolina regularly ranks as the best value for academic quality in U.S. public higher education. Now in its third century, the University offers 78 bachelor’s, 112 master’s, 68 doctorate and seven professional degree programs through 14 schools and the College of Arts and Sciences. Every day, faculty, staff and students shape their teaching, research and public service to meet North Carolina’s most pressing needs in all 100 counties. Carolina’s 304,000-plus alumni live in all 50 states and 150 countries, and more than 159,000 live in North Carolina.


Communications and Public Affairs Contact: Helen Buchanan, (919) 445-8555,